Parents, who are they?

In the Name of Allah The Most Merciful The Most Loving

always

Parents? Who are they? Why do we have them in our lives? Why do I need to love them?

In the past one year or two, I thought about those questions. I didn’t know why we need to have parents. And the most important question is: Why do I even need to love them?

My teacher told me without them, we would not be here. Without them, we would not have money. Without them, we would not have any food, water and the necessities for survival. They are the ones who provide us with everything that we need in life. They are the ones who will be there whenever you are sad, happy and angry. THAT is why I have to love my parents.

But, I wasn’t satisfied with that answer although I know that whatever my teacher said is true. Don’t get me wrong. What was in my head at that time was, “Why do I need to love them for providing me with all the materialistic things?” Also, I was thinking… how low was I to love my parents because of money, shoes, books, laptop, handphones etc. What if they did not give me these things? Then what is my reason to love my parents?

That got me confused for quite some time until the answer hit me…

I don’t have to love my parents for providing me with food, water, the necessities for survival. I don’t have to love them for giving me money all this while. I don’t have to love them for those materialistic stuff.

I should love my parents for the sake of Allah because that is what Allah asked us to do. It takes a while to realise this. If I want to gain the pleasure of Allah, I have to do the things that He asked me to do. And one of the things is to love my parents and be good to them.

In Surah Al-An’aam Ayat 6:  {Say (O Muhammad saw), “Come I will recite what your Lord has prohibited you from: Join not anything in worship with Him, be good and dutiful to your parents; kill not your children because of poverty – We provide sustenance for you and for them; …}

This is what Allah wants from us. He did not mention, “only be good to your parents if your parents are good to you”. There wasn’t any specific conditions stated in the ayaat, or specific reasons stated in the ayaat, for you to love your parents. So whether your parents are non-Muslims, or they are evil, or not doing a good job as parents to you, you don’t have a reason to do the same thing to them. You can’t say bad things, insult, be rude, be harsh to your parents. The only thing is to be sincere with your love for your parents.

So, the lesson here is ALWAYS be nice to your parents and DO NOT EVER be rude to them.

May Allah provide us with ease to be a better son/daughter. 😀

About Irm

Assalammualaikum. Hoping to find the goals that I want in life. Hoping to step out of the shadow that I have been living in for the past years. May Allah strengthen my faith so that I can chase after the rewards in this life and the hereafter.

Posted on October 1, 2013, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Beautiful!!! 🙂
    Jazakellahu khairan erum

  2. This is what Allah wants from us. He did not mention, “only be good to your parents if your parents are good to you”.

    Really! No condition to be good. Just be good.

DISCUSS HERE :)

